Menu icon

Types of Minister

Ordained Ministers:


Clergy, Reverends, Vicars, Rector, and Priests (Incumbants)

People who are called to represent the church in the wider world. They lead the church’s mission and ministry through worship and prayer, preaching and teaching, community engagement and pastoral work.

Some ordained ministers are self-supporting and serve locally, and some are stipendiary. Some are parish-based, while others serve in schools, hospitals, prisons and elsewhere as chaplains.

Deacons and Curates

Those successfully completing their Ordination training are ordained as a Deacon to start to serve in a specific parish as a Curate. 

Curacy is a vital time in which newly ordained ministers continue to learn and grow in the roles to which God has called them.  During this time a Curate will complete their on going training.

After a year of service, and completing the post-ordination training, a deacon will be ordained priest.


Licensed Lay Ministers:



Lay Elders are volunteers who share in the leading of worship and pastoral care in their local congregation and community, under the authority of their Ordained Minister. They are chosen by their Minister and Parish Church Council (PCC) and commissioned in their parish church by the Bishop or his representative.


A volunteer who is appointed to share the word of God, and who has a passion for sharing faith with those outside the life of the local church.  


Pioneers are people called by God who are the first to see and creatively respond to the Holy Spirit’s initiatives with those outside the church; gathering others around them as they seek to establish new contextual Christian community.  Pioneers are often volunteers who are licensed as ministers and will lead teams that develop Fresh Expressions of Church.


Readers are nationally accredited lay ministers who are licensed by the Diocesan Bishop to preach, teach and lead worship. They play an important part in nurturing Christian discipleship in the church and wider world.