Menu icon

General Synod

What is the General Synod?

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 under the Synodical Government Measure 1969, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly. The General Synod has power in the following areas: Legislation by Measure, Legislation by Canon, Relations with other Churches, Liturgy and Doctrinal Assent, Deliberation, and Finance.

Further information can be found at:

Elected Diocesan Members of General Synod:

House of Clergy House of Laity
The Revd Canon Jonathan Alderton-Ford Canon Tony Allwood
The Revd Andrew Dotchin Mrs Karen Galloway
The Revd Tiffer Robinson Mr David Lamming


The Rt Revd Martin Seeley, our Diocesan Bishop, is a member of General Synod sitting in the House of Bishops.

Reports of Previous Meetings




  • July 2016 | PDF
  • February 2016 | No Report Provided