Menu icon

Synods & Committees

This section contains details of governance for our diocese.  Choose the area you want to look at from the navigation options on the right hand side of this page.

The structure of governance might look complicated at first glance but the diagram below shows how everyone, including our parish churches, all feed in and interlink to Bishop’s Council, Diocesan Synod and ultimately General Synod. For more information on these, just click on the relevant page using the links on the right of this page.



Diocesan Meeting Dates

2019 Synodical Meeting Dates | PDF 

2020 Synodical Meeting Dates | PDF

Please note: the next Rural Dean's meeting is now on 26 March 2020.

Membership of Committees

There are many ways in which we can support the mission and ministry of the church across our 445 parishes and one of them is to help us to exercise sound governance.
There are a number of other diocesan committees which sit outside of the structure diagram above:

The Diocesan Board of Education (DBE)
Concerned with the promotion of education, church schools, RE and Collective Worship but its responsibilities also include an increasing focus on school improvement.
The DBE is appointed by Archdeaconry. DBE is elected on the basis of the archdeaconries of Ipswich, Sudbury and Suffolk (legally, there are three archdeaconries in this diocese even though we have been working for some time with two archdeacons who between them cover the diocese). 

The current membership DBE | Weblink

The Vacancy in See Committee
Considers the appointment of the new Diocesan Bishop when a vacancy occurs.

The current membership Vacancy in See Committee | PDF 

Following the recent election process held to fill the vacancies on this committee, we are pleased to announce that Mrs Daphne Rose and Mr Paul Clarke have been appointed.

The Patronage Board
Is patron to a number of benefices within the diocese acting either jointly with others or in sole capacity.

The current membership Patronage Board | PDF 

Following the recent elections,the  four vacancies have now been filled, the following have been elected:

  • Revd Canon Barbara Bilston
  • Revd Canon Mark Haworth
  • Mrs Anne Dunford
  • Mr Ron Llewellyn

The Cathedral Council
Responsible for furthering and supporting the spiritual, pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical work of the Cathedral. Members of this council would take up office on 1 March 2019.

The current membership Cathedral Council | PDF

The Bishops Council

The current membership Bishops Council | PDF