What are you looking for?

Menu icon

Diocesan Board of Education

The St Edmundsbury and Ipswich Diocesan Board of Education’s mission is to offer a life-enhancing encounter with the teachings and person of Jesus Christ, an experience that is utterly inclusive and brings love, hope, aspiration and fulfilment to every child.

The work of the Board at every level will be underpinned by the Christian values of Respect, Kindness, Perseverance, Forgiveness and Love.

DBE Meeting

  • Members-+

    The following list includes all members of the Diocesan Board of Education - as at 4 October 2017.

    The current Board was elected/nominated/co-opted for a 3-year period from January 2016 to Autumn 2018.


    Elected / Appointed / Co-opted

    Archdeaconry / Appointee / Representing

    The Rt Revd Martin Seeley

    Bishop of St Edmundsbury & Ipswich


    The Ven Dr David Jenkins (CHAIR)

    Archdeacon of Sudbury

    Bishop's Council

    Graham Alcock

    Ipswich Deanery


    Janita Betts

    Headteacher - Ipswich Deanery


    Revd Dr Stephen Brian

    Rector - Mid-Loes Benefice

    Archdeaconry of Suffolk

    Thomas Brooke

    Lay Member


    Pete Mumford Schools Planning Manager, CYP Suffolk County Council Co-opted

    Revd Andrew Dotchin

    Rector - Felixstowe St John the Baptist w. St Edmund


    Jane Eccleston Lay Member Archdeaconry of Sudbury

    Sandra Gray

    Lay Member

    Archdeaconry of Sudbury

    Jean Macpherson

    Lay Member

    Archdeaconry of Suffolk

    Guy McGregor

    Lay Member

    Archdeaconry of Suffolk

    The Ven Ian Morgan

    Archdeacon of Suffolk


    Revd Sharon Potter (VICE-CHAIR)

    Rector - Bradfield St Clare, Bradfield St George with Little Whelnetham, Cockfield, Felsham and Gedding

    Archdeaconry of Sudbury

    Dr Andrew Revitt

    University of Suffolk


    Mr Paul Ryle Headteacher - Hartismere Deanery  Co-opted
  • Meeting Dates-+

    The DBE meets at least four times a year and members are also invited to join specific courses, conferences and occasional joint-sessions with other Dioceses or the Local Authority.

    Remaining 2017 DBE meetings are on:

    • Wednesday 15 November (1.15pm)

    Meetings in 2018 are planned for:

    • Tuesday 6 February (1.30pm)
    • Tuesday 1 May (6.00pm)
    • Wednesday 12 September (6.00pm)
    • Tuesday 20 November (1.30pm)

    Agendas will be posted here one week prior to the meeting. Meetings take place at the St Nicholas Centre, Cutler Street, Ipswich IP1 1UQ.

    Previous Meetings

    Older papers are available on request - please email Jacqui Studd.